The End

the_end (3)
You always want things to be tidy, at the end.

It almost never happens, though. And slowly, I’m starting to see that as a good thing. I’ll always be tangled up in the places I’ve lived or stayed. Too many messy endings. But those same loose ends will hopefully drag me back someday, or at least maintain a stronger connection in memory than something that provided more closure.

Last Thursday, the county plowed the road into Gothic, and then the following day opened it for public traffic. I spent one last weekend at my cabin, no longer snowbound or alone, surrounded strange things like other people and laughter and headlights and wildflowers, before loading my life into my car and driving down to Denver.
the_end (1)
Patrick and Taylor, one month in to a summer road trip odyssey, joined me for my final days.
whiterock (1)
We skied up Copper Creek with the intention of climbing White Rock Mountain, but spooky snow and bad navigation foiled our efforts. Not that I had much to complain about.
the_end (2)

the_end
I’d be lying if I said I didn’t choke up as Gothic Mountain shrank in my rearview mirror. Until we meet again.

2 thoughts on “The End

  1. Pingback: High points | Beyond the Ranges

  2. Pingback: 2014 by the month | Beyond the Ranges

Leave a Reply

