August, come and gone

august1

This blog tends towards the abstract and wordy (Patrick calls it “occasionally erudite”; others might call it “pretentious.”) For some reason, this is the mode I’m most comfortable writing in, probably because it’s public and I am not quite enough of a digital native to live a good chunk of my life online.

Sometimes, though, inspired writing fails to materialize on schedule. This has been the case over the past month, but as a new chapter in my life begins, I feel compelled to establish good habits early. Basically, writing is important to me, and I want to keep it up, even when laying lexical bricks feels particularly dull and laborious.

In that spirit, here’s what’s happened over the past month, in bullets and photos.

– I live in Seattle now.
– I’ll be here for 5-7 years, working on a Ph.D. at the University of Washington. And getting to know every crag, cirque, and valley I can in the North Cascades.
– I spent a good bit of August traveling. Oregon for a wedding, Vermont to see my family, Wyoming en route to my new home.
– I ran the Race to the Top of Vermont up Mt. Mansfield’s toll road. Finished 4th in 36:44. A tough but satisfying race in a new discipline for me, against a number of Olympic-caliber nordic skiers.
– I ran 440 miles, 74 hours, and +71,000′ in August, certainly the best month training I’ve ever logged. In four days, at Pine to Palm, I get to see if the ends justify the means.
– Moving is hard, and always bittersweet. But I am very happy to be back in the PNW.

I’ve been taking photos, too.
august2
Astoria, OR on a rare day of brilliant weather. The wedding deities must have smiled on the pairing.
august3
A lonely valley in the Gore Range, CO, following a quick escape from a storm cell that caught me on the summit of Keller Mountain (13085′).
august4
The happy bride (right).
august5
Fireweed (Chamerion angustifolius)
august6
Their “first” dance.
august7
The sinuous, half-mile scramble to Keller’s true summit, top center and left of the half-moon shaped snowfield below the saddle.
august8
I am really, really going to miss fall in the high country.
august9
Vermont is still brewing better beer than almost anywhere else.
august10
Harebell (Campanula rotundifolia)
august11
The famous sugar maple, Acer saccharum, hinting at the coming fall in northern Vermont.
august12
And finally, halfway through the move from Denver to Seattle, I visited the Tetons for the first time. I spent the morning circumnavigating the group, a spectacular and satisfying introduction to a storied range.

Onward. More to come.

One thought on “August, come and gone

  1. Pingback: 2014 by the month | Beyond the Ranges

Leave a Reply

